Your Best Interests Are

Our Top Priority

 October 6, 2017 |

Deciding to expand one’s family by adopting a child is a rewarding and exhilarating decision for many Louisiana residents. Not only does it provide a child with the stability they deserve and crave, it allows parents to take over the emotional, physical and financial care of a child who deserves it. Understandably though, the laws surrounding adoption are very stringent and adopting parents must meet certain criteria before they are approved.

Louisiana is one of a handful of states that requires that the person who is about to adopt a child be at least 18-years-old. Other than this age requirement, anyone can adopt a child, depending on the type of adoption. Louisiana allows for agency, private and intrafamily adoption. The following post will focus on private adoption and an upcoming post will focus on the adoption process that takes place within a family.

In Louisiana, if a couple is adopting a child, then spouses must join in the adoption unless they are legally separated. However, being married is not a legal requirement. Single people over the age of 18 can legally adopt someone.

However, before the adoption is finalized there is a home residency requirement that must be met and certain checks will take place during that time as well. It is important to know that following the legal procedure is essential to ensuring the adoption is carried out properly and cannot be objected to at a later time-even though the statute of limitations to an objection to the adoption is 30 days, and six months in case of fraud or duress, having the correct paperwork completed on time can ensure the process is not dragged on needlessly. An experienced attorney can help Louisiana residents through the process so that they can complete their families as smoothly and quickly as possible.

    Contact Us

    Let Us Earn Your Trust.

    Schedule a confidential consultation with an attorney at 225-452-4408.